Burzum – Umskiptar (New Burzum Album coming May 2012)

Burzum‘s new album is scheduled for release on the 21st of May, 2012 and will be entitled Umskiptar.

The uninspired official marketing text describes the music as “…not like any of the older Burzum albums, and yet similar to all of them.” It will contain “traditional metal music” and more “experimental music” possibly in addition to the intro/outro. Umskiptar will be released on CD (Jewel case and Digibook) and Vinyl Double LP (Grey and Black editions).


Blóðstokkinn – Soaked in Blood
Jóln – Deities
Alfadanz – Elven Dance
Hit helga Tré – The sacred Tree
Æra – Honour
Heiðr – Esteem
Valgaldr- Song of the Fallen
Galgviðr – Gallow Forest
Surtr Sunnan – Black from the South
Gullaldr – Golden Age
Níðhöggr – Attack from Below

The lyrics on “Umskiptar” are all taken from a Norse poem, Völuspá.
“The “Umskiptar” album is also a return-to-the-roots album for me, with a strong focus on atmosphere and wholeness rather than anything else. The vocals on this one however are more important than on any other album, with a total of 66 stanzas, some of them even repeated a few times, making up the lyrics of the album. The vocals are very important for the special atmosphere and are more important than on any other Burzum album, and more varied too – and as honest as it gets”.
The concept of the album is “Umskiptar” (English = “Metamorphoses”), a deeply rooted European (i.e. Pagan) Stoic concept of changes. This concept was chosen in a world heading for a new Ice Age, and can therefore also be seen as critique of all the popular political movements of our age of lies”. (V.V.)

Official Burzum Website Release Page with Lyrics